Skip to content

Living for Today

January 5, 2012

This past year has been one of tremendous changes. I’ve made and lost friendships along the way and there have been shifts spiritually, emotionally and professionally. There have been days I’ve been overwhelmed and others where I felt as though nothing could bring my spirits down. This coming year I promised myself that I would look back on the past only when necessary and mostly to gauge where I am today. I have many long and short term goals planned for the coming year but  I can only manage each day if I take each day for what it may bring which has me reflecting on the following  quote quite often:

We can easily manage if we will only take, each day, the burden appointed to it.But the load will be too heavy for us if we carry yesterday’s burden over again today,and then add the burden of the morrow before we are required to bear it.  ~John Newton

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Catherine permalink
    January 5, 2012 9:54 pm

    Excellent quote, Selena, and I agree with you completely. My journey this past year has been similar to yours, so I can really relate to this. As you know, many times “today’s” load is already very heavy – so adding yesterday’s or tomorrow’s to it would be very counterproductive to what we are hoping to achieve. ~ Julie

    • January 21, 2012 11:38 am

      Thank you Julie, and yes we have had similar paths. We are both embarking on new and exciting ways of thinking,doing,living.

  2. Olan L. Smith permalink
    January 21, 2012 11:34 am

    This is great, Lena. I may have stubbled on this once before but got lost, lol, and made a wrong turn (click), oops. Love, Olan

    • January 21, 2012 11:36 am

      Thank you Olan,I’m planning on adding to this article as I both reflect and move forward.:)~Lena

Leave a Reply

