Skip to content

Letting Go

January 12, 2012

Letting Go

Since the 1st of January my finances have been in a state of uncertainty, something that I find extremely difficult to handle .To make the situation worse, every agency I’ve turned to has passed me on to someone else and I’ve found myself in limbo, even my limbo is in limbo .There also appears to be little legal recourse though I am still searching for answers. I’ve run the gamut of emotions from extreme anger at this unnecessary situation to fear and an underlying panic. I’ve been homeless before and I don’t want to go down that road again. I’m getting too old to have all this uncertainty and yet I find myself facing this very real possibility once again. I’ve been asking myself what I can do differently in response to this situation .I’ve decided to let go of my anger at the party who’s the source of my difficulties and have resolved to use my anger to find a solution I can live with now and in the future. I came across these great quotes on letting go and plan on using them to keep my focus in the interim;

1) Every breath is an opportunity to receive and let go. I receive love and I let go of pain.” – Brenda MacIntyre

2) “We must be willing to let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the life that is waiting for us.” – Joseph Campbell

3) Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.

4) Letting go doesn’t mean giving up… it means moving on.- Anonymous

5) You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.- C. S. Lewis

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Catherine permalink
    January 12, 2012 8:43 pm

    Letting go of a situation or emotion that is toxic to you has to be one of the most difficult things in the world to do – huge kudos to you for coming to the realization that this is something you need and want to do for yourself. I am so sorry that your situation is at this point, but encourage you to hang in there; to take action where you can, and to try to come to a place of peace within yourself in the areas where you have no control. I love your quotes, especially #3 – how very true that is! ~ Julie xox

  2. January 17, 2012 6:23 pm

    I have heard Number 2 before, but that one really strikes a chord with me. I seldom hang on to anger, but hang on to my old life; now that is quite another thing!

Leave a Reply

