Skip to content

Society’s Nomads

May 20, 2012
tags:

Society’s Nomads

Children aged before their time, motherless, fatherless, half naked, barefoot, curled up in little balls; made to sleep on cardboard boxes amongst weeping, tin cans, kids’ toys, and cabbage roses sprawled across the corner lot. They are sagging into the streets, crushed by surrender— heaped, scattered and pounded into dust by life’s cruelties.

Man’s brutality
Built nomadic families
Humanity’s loss

© Selena Howard,February,2012

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Catherine permalink
    May 20, 2012 11:40 am

    My dearest friend, this is heart-breaking to read – and oh, so well written that it brings tears to my eyes. This line is just gripping: “They are sagging into the streets, crushed by surrender”. An exquisite Haibun, and your ending Haiku sends a powerful message to all of ‘humanity’ … “nomadic families” … truly breaks my heart. Another beautifully penned work. ~ Love, Julie xoxox

  2. Caddo Veil permalink
    May 20, 2012 1:18 pm

    Oh WOW, another heart-grabber–expressed exquisitely; beautifully pointed.

  3. Olan L. Smith permalink
    May 20, 2012 1:32 pm

    Lena well presented and well written hiaban. I grew up poor, not poor in these standards but poor. I did not know I was poor and thus was fill with fun and joy. Love, Olan

    • May 21, 2012 7:30 am

      Thank you Olan I grew up poor and lived on the streets from age 13 to nearly age 16 so I know this first hand

  4. Stephen Francia permalink
    May 21, 2012 3:52 am

    A wonderful Haibun Lena. It really shows your concern for the homeless, ‘the weeping others, amongst…cabbage roses’ presents the reader with images, evoking feelings of compassion. Well done 🙂

    • May 21, 2012 7:37 am

      Thank you Stephen,my two newest haibuns have been under wraps as they were supposed to be in The Homeless Cry Anthology Book, but as you know the publisher messed up and I was omitted.. I’m happy to share them now though . Having been homeless and one of these children you can understand my initial distress at their error. It was about more than my poems it was my opportunity to give back. So I’ll be making a donation to the charities I had listed with my submission and you know I may even send them a copy of this poem as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

