Skip to content

Awakening (A collaborative poem)

June 5, 2012

Awakening

©2012, Selena Howard and Olan L. Smith

Profound running of emotions within
Wedge every pore with sensation,
Mysterious but recognizable, imperceptible yet visible;
Strong, bold and delightfully ever mine.

Watersheds seize blue landscapes
Solitary songbird sings in calmness
Expansion of awareness invades certainty
What was is not and what becomes is new.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2012 8:14 am

    I am not sure how you write a collaborative poem, but this is absolutely brilliant work. Wow!

    • June 5, 2012 8:55 am

      Well this is my first collaborative poem as well as a first for Olan. We got together on MSN messenger and put this together last night .I recently had something profound happen that has yet again reshaped me and I was struggling with putting anything into words to express it. Olan helped me find a starting point and so I’ll be writing future writes about my experience. Olan wrote the first stanza ,then we brainstormed changes in it and did the same with my stanza which is the second one

      • June 7, 2012 12:09 pm

        Interesting…I have never read of a collaborative poem before…and what’s nice about is that it was done through the span of distance.

      • June 7, 2012 12:39 pm

        Thank you Frances and yes quite a distance . I look forward to doing more of these

    • Olan L. Smith permalink
      June 5, 2012 3:31 pm

      Thomas, I was not sure how to either but it just seem natural to do this collaboration with Lena. In this case I started with the first stanza; we worked on that, polishing it and she started the second and we brainstormed on it. The main things to keep in mind we did not try to fit into each others style but build upon it. Love, peace and freedom, Olan

  2. June 5, 2012 9:33 am

    Well done IMHO! Change is scary. We can fight it or go with the flow. Renewal isn’t easy but it’s rewarding and as you say in your poem, an awakening. xox

    • June 5, 2012 9:44 am

      Thank you Jeannie and yes it can be scary yet rewarding when you have an awakening. This one was huge ,hence my trouble expressing it,now I have a starting point

  3. Julie Catherine permalink
    June 5, 2012 11:37 am

    Absolutely beautiful collaborative poem, Lena and Olan; you have melded your words together as strong as the bonds of like souls. Just lovely, my dear friend xoxox

    • Olan L. Smith permalink
      June 5, 2012 3:27 pm

      Thank you, Julie. It was fun to collaberate with Lena on this. Love, peace and freedom. Olan

    • June 5, 2012 3:38 pm

      Thank you Julie , Olan was quite patient with my hunt and peck typing skills and my deer in the headlights look lol. It was a pleasure to work with him on this

  4. Caddo Veil permalink
    June 5, 2012 4:39 pm

    WOW, Lena–wonderful work! Hard to choose favorite lines, but I especially like the last two–and the “mysterious but recognizable…” one, which I completely relate to personally.

    • June 7, 2012 12:37 pm

      Thank you sis Caddo this was a joy to write if a bit intimidating at 1st but Olan put me at ease

  5. July 14, 2012 11:16 pm

    Lovely collaboration! So enriching to partner with a fellow artist this way ~
    Loved these final lines: “Expansion of awareness invades certainty
    What was is not and what becomes is new.”
    Extremely powerful and TRUE! ~RL

Leave a Reply

