Skip to content

Tenderness

July 23, 2012

Tenderness

Touch
Embraced
New born breath,
Divine love formed
Evening’s primrose—
Richness melds depth of souls
Nurtured hearts lift eyes in love
Effuse blushes and soft pleasures
Sighs delightful, whispered endearments
Sweet release; pains, joy, awaken pulses

Pulses awaken joy, pains – release sweet
Endearments whispered; delightful sighs
Pleasures soft and blushes effuse —
Love in eyes lift hearts – nurtured
Souls of depth melds richness
—Primrose evenings
Formed love divine,
Breath born new
Embraced
Touch

©Selena Howard,2012

Acrostic-Etheree- Reverse-Etheree

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Catherine permalink
    July 23, 2012 2:28 am

    Selena, I think this is one of my new favorites of your poems. The tender beauty of your words, your phrasing, is just exquisite. And this poem can be interpreted in so many ways … the tenderness between lovers, mother and child, nature, and even in a spiritual way – what a rich, ethereal masterpiece you’ve created here. To accomplish this within such an intricate and restrictive framework of the Acrostic Etheree/Reverse Etheree format is simply icing on the cake. I absolutely love this …. beautiful, beautiful, tender poem, my dear friend. I’m so proud of the sophistication of this work. ~ Love, Julie ♥

  2. July 23, 2012 2:35 am

    Thank you Julie and you inspire me to always strive for higher levels of expression. Your poetry is something I seek to emulate in my own unique way and your guidance nurturing and understanding of me as a person, poet, and artist has enabled me to reach higher

  3. July 23, 2012 8:01 pm

    The line “Souls of depth melds richness” is exquisite!

  4. July 29, 2012 8:19 pm

    This is really, really effective. I would not have thought, hearing about the idea for the form, that it would work, but you have really done extraordinarily well with this, Selena.

    • July 29, 2012 10:21 pm

      Thank you Thomas, I was (note past tense here lol )a poet who bristled at the thought of such restrictive poems thinking wrongly that they would inhibit my freedom of expression. What has happened has been the complete opposite,because this is so restrictive I’m forced to be extremely choosy about word choices which in turn inspires me to dig deeper within myself for ways to create within such confines. This word was especially difficult because so many of the letters are the same which is exactly why I chose it.I love to push not only the envelope but myself,
      Warm regards, Selena

Leave a Reply

