Skip to content

Finding Sunlight in The Storm

December 1, 2012

Image

I apologize to those I follow and those that follow me, Life has been throwing some real harsh growth growers my way of late. I have two sisters who’ve had life threatening illness rear their ugly heads and I myself just underwent a spinal tap to rule out meningitis.I’ve been in poor health, I’ve written some new poetry but not done a lick of painting ,all of these things which bring me joy have taken a backseat to one illness after the other and today I became angry at once again having a raging fever and headache that left me flat on my back unable to even move my eyes side to side without excruciating pain.So I say to these health concerns that are happening I will not be reduced to a whining, sniveling shell of myself but I will fight back tooth and nail and I refuse to wear the cloak of illness!These past few months have been very trying,still I have much to be thankful for.I devoted the month of November to 30 days of thankfulness but have decided to carry this through into the new year. I came across a quote by Maya Angelou that summed it up nicely” I can be changed by what happens to me ,but I refuse to reduced by it” With thankfulness in my heart,spirit, and actions and most importantly love for my family and mankind,I ask that you be kind to one another,appreciate the time you have with those you love and tell them how much they mean to you in the here and now,not leaving it to when you are  standing over a casket after they are gone.

Love Selena

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Olan L. Smith permalink
    December 1, 2012 7:57 pm

    Lovely paintings from a lovely person, smile. I cannot see events ever reducing your spirit. Though times of this life are indeed a tempest the individual who holds their compass steady will find their way home and others will follow them. Love, Olan

  2. Julie Catherine permalink
    December 1, 2012 8:04 pm

    You are indeed a “Strongheart”, my dearest Selena! I know some of what you have been going through lately, and am filled with utmost admiration for your courage and spirit – and I know that whatever happens, you will overcome and be okay within yourself. You have a wealth of talent, of heart and strength and a deep love for all things and people. That is who and what you are – illness or stresses or obstacles can never take that from you. But I am sorry that life has been so very challenging, and continue to send gentle hugs, much love and as much positive, healing energy your way as I can muster. I love you, dear friend! ~ Julie xoxox

    • December 1, 2012 10:52 pm

      Thank you Julie , I hate whining more than anything I try always to maintain a positive approach even in the face of overwhelming odds and this is no different, My anger is at illness in general and that simply motivates me me to dig in deeper so as not to let all that’s happening overwhelm me. I love you you xoox

  3. December 1, 2012 10:12 pm

    You must hold forward, Selena. Life is not always easy. Ethel and I have faced that too often during recent years, but we keep on going on, trying to find the sunrise in all situations. That’s not always possible, of course. But the effort of trying is what we have at the end of the day, that and the spirit that you always reveal through your poetry.

    • December 1, 2012 10:56 pm

      Thank you Thomas , It’s rare I become angry at illness or circumstances , sometimes though as in this case it motivates me to dig within those reserves and draw strength from them.Many blessings to you and yours

  4. December 2, 2012 8:05 pm

    I also wanted to carry the tradition through the new year. Check out the beginning of my list: http://www.charleneoldham.com.

Leave a Reply

