Skip to content

All I Am

January 12, 2013

butterfly_mountain (Copy)
All I Am

I hear his wings’ whisper; feel his eyes on me,
Know he is the body of my hunger
In all its rawness – I am his

Eat my father’s absence, where
Tears still echo in my bone vault

Eat my triumphs, all the pain,
Gained and lost between

Eat my small words flung against cliff
And stone, when grief takes flight

Eat my gossamer wings, where thunder
Roars and lighting moves my heart

Eat my spine’s ecstatic shudders
And wind my mind to thought

Eat my ponderings, my songs— then;
When all that’s left are dreams and dust

Eat my leaves, still wet beneath my feet
Here is all I am – There is nothing more

I hear his wings’ whisper; feel his eyes on me,
Know he is the body of my hunger
In all its rawness – I am his
©Selena Howard,2013

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

